The Professional Studies Program

Home » Be Inspired » THIS is Human Services

THIS is Human Services

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

2018 GraduationMay 5th, 2018
7 months to go.

People sometimes ask, “What is Human Services?” THIS is Human Services – intelligence and compassion combined with pure determination to improve our world.

Meet Lisa Blanchard, who started The Grateful Garment Project in her capstone class at NDNU.  Last week, her video about her project, which has become a nonprofit serving a population of over 12 million people, “went viral” with over TWO MILLION views:

Kylie Hicks, a former Human Services student, commented, “yes, yes, a million times yes!” and also volunteered her own perspective about Human Services:  “I came to the NDNU Professional Studies Program after earning a bachelors degree in a discipline that was different than the field I ended up working in. I work in higher education and business, and enrolled in Human Services classes last year. What a valuable, wonderful program! The high-touch experience, welcoming administrators, and expert faculty make me glad that I chose Human Services. I began applying what I learned in the classroom to job in real time. I was also lucky to have the support of my teachers while applying to grad school. I begin the MPA program at NDNU later this month, and want to say THANK YOU to the Professional Studies Program, and the Human Services department in particular, for helping me to achieve my goals.”

This definition of Human Services – intelligence and compassion combined with pure determination to improve our world – applies to the work of so many of our students from the past 27 years of this program’s existence, individuals who are using their education to improve the lives of so many people and who bring their expertise to organizations and communities in ways that make a difference.  We’re proud of each and every one of you.  The work that you are doing, both when you are getting the attention that you deserve (like Lisa) and when you are toiling away to quietly provide essential support, is awe inspiring.  Thank you.

1 Comment

  1. jmola08 says:

    I get that question a lot too. I like this definition better than what I say. =) Great program. Loved it!

Leave a Reply

